Laws of Motion

Newton has formulated three laws of motion, which are the basic postulates or assumptions on which the whole system of dynamics is based. Like other scientific laws, these are also justified as the results, so obtained, agree with the actual observations. Following are the three laws of motion :IsaacNewton

  1. Newton’s First Law of Motion: It states, “Newton’s First Law of Motion Every body continues in its state of rest or of uniform motion in a straight line, unless acted upon by some external force”. This is also known as Law of Inertia.
  2. Newton’s Second Law of Motion: It states, “The rate of change of momentum is directly proportional to the impressed force and takes place in the same direction in which the force acts”.
  3. Newton’s Third Law of Motion: It states, “To every action, there is always an equal and opposite reaction”.